About Upper Savannah Council of Governments

Upper Savannah Council of Governments (USCOG) was the first multi-county planning and development organization to be created in South Carolina and is part of South Carolina’s 10 sub-state regional Council of Governments system, the South Carolina Councils of Governments (SCCOGs). The Upper Savannah region includes six counties: Abbeville, Edgefield, Greenwood, Laurens, McCormick and Saluda. Upper Savannah serves as the umbrella administrative organization for regional activities, has local and state government representation on its Board of Directors and works closely with local, state and federal government agencies.

The Council provides a wide scope of services and performs many functions ranging from assistance to senior citizens and persons with disabilities, workforce development assistance for employers and job seekers, community development with a focus on infrastructure and community improvements, grant writing and administration, transportation planning, as well as loans to small businesses and other economic development activities for the purpose of saving and creating jobs. USCOG also identifies solutions and opportunities related to regional challenges and offers consultation and technical assistance to local governments on a day-to-day basis.